All of our properties are located in the heart of St. John's, within a walking distance from all the major attractions, the University, Quidi Vidi village to name a few. Here are some of the nearby attractions
Located on the north side of Military Road next to Government House and the Colonial Building, Bannerman Park takes its name for Governor Alexander Bannerman, who in 1864, donated Governor’s lands in the vicinity of Government House for a public park for the use and enjoyment of the citizens of St. John’s.
This is the first land in Newfoundland and Labrador designated for a public park, making Bannerman Park the oldest and most historic park in the province. In the years immediately following this original gift, Bannerman Park saw a number of public uses, including two skating rinks and a hall for fancy dress balls.In 1891, the City of St. John’s funded the design and development of the Park as a formal Victorian Garden. The Park has a history of attracting support and gifts from various organizations. In 1928, a wading pool and change rooms for children was sponsored by the Rotarians, and in 1959 the Lion’s Club donated a large heated outdoor swimming pool. In 1977, in conjunction with the Canada Summer Games, a softball field was added. That same year the first Newfoundland Folk Festival was hosted by the St. John’s Folk Arts Council, which continues as an iconic event in the City in Bannerman Park.
Named one of the most colourful cities in the world by National Geogrpahic, downtown St. John's attracts visitors with its vibrant colors and wide variety of restaurants, shops, bars and coffee shops.
George Street is located in the heart of downtown St. John’s, Newfoundland, and boasts the most bars and pubs per square foot of any street in North America. Known as “the biggest little street in the world,” George Street is the predominant home of St. John’s nightlife, and includes some of the most popular award-winning pubs, restaurants, and live music venues in Newfoundland.
Signal Hill and Battery
St. John’s most popular landmark, Signal Hill, recalls the town’s historic past and communications triumph, as well as offering coastal hikes and colourful performances, against sweeping views overlooking the Atlantic. Signal Hill was the site of St. John’s harbour defences from the 17th century to the Second World War and where Guglielmo Marconi received the world’s first transatlantic wireless signal in 1901.
The Rooms and The Basillica
The Rooms is a cultural facility in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada. The facility opened in 2005 and houses the Art Gallery of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Provincial Archives of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Provincial Museum of Newfoundland and Labrador.The facility was constructed on a hill overlooking the port city, at a historic location once occupied by Fort Townshend. The building can be seen from almost any point in St. John's, and the facility has since its construction competed with its neighbour, Basilica of St. John the Baptist, for the dominance of the St. John's skyline. With its twin 43-metre-high towers and location on the high hill on the northern side of the harbour, the Basilica has long been the dominant feature of the St. John’s skyline. Begun in 1841 and completed in 1850, the Military Road structure was consecrated as a cathedral in 1855. At that time, it was the largest church in North America. Built in the shape of a Latin cross, it was declared a minor Basilica on its centenary in 1955. It is now a National Historic Site. Guided summer tours available.